Skip to main content

MLA Citation Style Guide

Overview of using MLA 8th ed. to format citations.

Book Citation Formats

Book - Single author

Author Last, First name. Source. Publisher, Date of publication.

Examples:

Herr, John. Creative Resources for the Early Childhood Classroom. Wadsworth& Cengage Learning, 2013.

 

Reese, Nancy Berryman, and William Bandy. Joint Range of Motion and Muscle Length Testing. 3rd ed., Elsevier, 2017.

Source. Publisher, Date of publication.

Example:

Webster's ninth new collegiate dictionary. Merriiam-Webster, 1990.

When there are multiple authors, their names should be listed as they are presented in the book. The first author is listed, last name, First and additional authors are listed first name last name format.

Book - 2 authors

Author, First, and First Author2. Source. Publisher, Date of publication.

Example:

Reese, Nancy Berryman, and William Bandy. Joint Range of Motion and Muscle Length Testing. 3rd ed., Elsevier, 2017.

 

Book - more than 3 authors - When there ar more than 3 authors, list first author followed by phrase "et al." in place of other authors' names.

Example:

Law, Mary. C., et al. Measuring Occupational Performance: Supporting Best Practice in Occupational Therapy. 3rd ed., SLACK Incorporated, 2017.

eBook citations follow same rules as citations for print books with the exception that the name of the database where book was retrieved from and URL are needed.

Author Last, First Name. Source. Publisher, Date of publication. Container, permanent link.

 

eBook from a library database:(include the name of the database)

Example:

Esch, Dortha, and Marvin Lepley. Musculoskeletal function: an Anatomy and Kinesiology Laboratory Manual, University of Minnesota Press, 1970. ProQuest Ebook Central, http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/gannon-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3167091.

eBook found online:(include the URL)

Example:

Gosling, Jonathan, et al. Key concepts in leadership. Sage Publications, Ltd., 2012. http://sk.sagepub.com/books/key-concepts-in-leadership.

 

Example:

Guillermo C. J. & Pulos, E. (n.d.). Animal Rights and CSR. In Good Corporation, Bad Corporation: Corporate Social Responsibility in the Global Economy Retrieved July 13, 2017, from https://milnepublishing.geneseo.edu/good-corporation-bad-corporation/

Kindle or downloaded eBook:

If resource is downloaded to personal device and there is no URL, then the type should be included following source and edition information

Author Last, First Name. Source. Kindle ed., Publisher, Date of publication.

Chapter in eBook:

Author, A. A.  "Title of chapter," Title of ebook, edited by First name Last name, Publisher, Year. Container, Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxx

Entire Edited Book

Example:

Author/Editor, A. A.  Title of Book, Publisher, Year.

Example:

Wagenfeld, Amy, et al., editors. Foundations of Pediatric Practice for Occupational Assistant. SLACK Incorporated, 2017.

Book with Author and Editor

Author, A. A.  Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, Publisher, Year.

Example:

Austen, Jane. The Annotated Emma, edited by D. M. Shapard, Anchor. (2012).

Author, A. A.  "Title of chapter," Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, Publisher, Year, page range (pp. ## - ##).

Notes:

When listing page numbers of chapters/section of edited book in parentheses after title, use "pp." before the numbers.

Example:

O'Neil, James M., and Jean Egan. "Men's and Women's Gender Role Journeys: A Metaphor for Healing, Transition, and Transformation," Gender Issues Across the Life Cycle (pp. 107-123). edited by B. R. Wainrib, Springer.(1992).

Print Encyclopedia:

Author, A. A. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Book, vol. ##, Publisher, Year. pp. xx-xx.

Example:

Eisenberg, Theodore. "Bankruptcy Reform Act." Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, edited by Leonard W. Levy et al., vol. 1, Macmillan, 1986, p. 100.

No Author, Online Encyclopedia:

"Title of Encyclopedia entry." Title of Encyclopedia. edited by Editor first name, Last name, (if available) edition/version note, Publisher. Year, Online Source/Database name, http:xxxxxxx

Loading ...