Skip to main content

Nurse Practitioner: Health Statistics

A guide to assist the doctoral students in the DNP Program.

Subject Guide

Deb West's picture
Deb West
Contact:
814.871.7667

The Human Mortality Database

"The Human Mortality Database (HMD) contains original calculations of death rates and life tables for national populations (countries or areas), as well as the input data used in constructing those tables. The input data consist of death counts from vital statistics, plus census counts, birth counts, and population estimates from various sources."

U.S Census: Health and Nutrition: The National Data Book

"This section presents statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption." It includes links to the PDF or Excel version of the 2012 Statistical Abstracts.

Statistical Sources for Health Professionals

CDC National Center for Health Statistics

The Centers for Disease Control offers a comprehensive database of surveys, data, and FastStats. "FastStats provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance, including: diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, and health care and insurance."

CDC Wonder

"With CDC Wonder you can:

  • Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics;
  • Query numeric data sets on CDC's computers, via "fill-in-the blank web pages. Public use data sets about mortality, cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality, census data and many other topics are available and readily summarized and analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps."

Consumer Health Issues

Nutrition Data