Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Style 7th edition

Print or eBook with a DOI

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also first word of subtitle. (edition #). Publisher.  DOI (https://...)
Example:
Gosling, J., Jones, S., Sutherland, I., & Jones, S. (2012). Key concepts in leadership. Sage Publications, Ltd. https://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781473914759

 

Print or eBook without a DOI (from library catalog or database)


Example:
Edwards, C. & Willis, J. W. (2014). Action research: Models, methods, and examples. Information Age Publishing. 
 

Other eBooks without a DOI # (not from library database)


Author, A. A. (Year). Title of eBook: Capital letter also for subtitle. (edition). Publisher. URL
Example:
Burns, C. E., Dunn, A. M., Brady, M. A., Barber Starr, N., Blosser, C.G., & Garzon Maaks, D.L. (2016). Pediatric primary care. (6th edition). Saunders. https://evolve.elsevier.com/cs/product/9780323376860?role=student

Book with 2 to 20 authors (Use an ampersand "&" before the final author's name)


Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D.D. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also first word of subtitle. (edition #). Publisher.  DOI (https://...)

Example:

Law, M. C., Baum, C. M., & Dunn, W. (2017). Measuring occupational performance: Supporting best practice in occupational therapy. (3rd edition). Slack Incorporated.
 

Book with more than 21 authors (List first 19 authors followed by ellipse ( . . . ) then the final author's name)


Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, A. B., Author, A. C., Author, B. C., Author, B. D., Author, C. D., . . . Author, Z.Z. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also first word of subtitle. (edition #). Publisher.  DOI (https://...)
Edited Book without DOI (Library catalog or Library Database)

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of work: Capital for subtitle also. Publisher. 

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Editor, year)
Narrative Citation: Editor (year)

Example:
Polglase, T. (Ed.). (2012). The occupational therapy handbook: Practice education. M & K Publishing.

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Polglase, 2012)
Narrative Citation: Polglase (2012)

 

Authored book with editor credited on cover

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital for subtitle also. (edition #). (A. Editor, Ed.). Publisher. DOI# (https://...)

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Author, year)
Narrative Citation: Author (year)

Example:
Tylor, E.B. (1964). Researches into the early history of mankind and the development of civilization. (P. Bohannan, Ed.). University of Chicago Press.

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Tylor, 1964)
Narrative Citation: Tylor (1964)

Chapter in Edited Book without DOI


Author, A. A. (Year).  Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor (Ed.),  Title of Book. (edition #, pages) Publisher.

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Author, year)
Narrative Citation: Author (year)

 

O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (p. 107–123). Springer Publishing Co.

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (O'Neil & Egan, 1992)
Narrative Citation: O'Neal & Egan (1992)

 

 

Chapter in Edited Book with DOI


Author, A. A. (Year).  Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor (Ed.),  Title of Book. (edition #, pages) Publisher. DOI # (https://....)

Example:

Gosling, J., Jones, S. & Sutherland, I. (2012). Broad-based leadership and functional leadership. In C. Rojeck, (Ed.),  Key concepts in leadership. SAGE Publications Ltd. https://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781473914759

Dictionary 

Recommendations:

for general spelling - Merriam Webster.com Dictionary  - https://www.merriam-webster.com/

for psychological terms - APA Dictionary of Psychologyhttps://dictionary.apa.org/


Print Example
Merriam-Webster. (1990). Webster's ninth new collegiate dictionary. (9th ed). 

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (Merriam-Webster, 1990)
Narrative Citation: Merriam-Webster, (1990)

Online Example
American Psychological Association (n.d.). APA Dictionary of Psychology. Retrieved January 24, 2020, from https://dictionary.apa.org/

In text citation:

Parenthetical Citation: (American Psychological Association, n.d.)
Narrative Citation: American Psychological Association, (n.d.)

 

Encyclopedia


Example - One Search Research Starter
Dewey, J. (2018). Nursing theory. In Salem Press Encyclopedia of Health.
Example - Entry from Online Encyclopedia
Moos, R. & Holahan, C. (2003). Social climate. In R. Fernandez-Ballesteros (Ed.)., Encyclopedia of psychological assessment (Vol. 1, pp. 889-894). Sage Publications. Ltd doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9780857025753.n187

Dissertation/Thesis

General format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of dissertation/thesis [Unpublished doctoral dissertation/thesis]. Institution.

 

Unpublished (generally retrieved directly from college/university in print form)


Snow, M. P. (2012). Feasibility of two stage anaerobic digestion on a dairy farm [Unpublished thesis]. Gannon University.
 

Published (available full text from database)


Brieger, J. M. (2009). Therapists' questions: Examining the intentions of therapists' question in an initial assessment [Doctoral dissertation, Gannon University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. 
 

Published (available full text from university archive or personal website)


Cracker, J. M. (2020). Implementation of peroperative education on the appropriate use of opioids. [Doctoral capstone, Gannon University]. Gannon University Digital Collection,   https://cdm15946.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p15946coll2/id/80/rec/1