Nash FAQ: Building/Collection: General Collection Information

Q. What floor are the yearbooks on?

Answer: Gannon Yearbooks can be found in the Archives department located on the lower level. Users can access digital copies of Gannon yearbooks found on the Internet Archive.
More information can be found on the Archive department website.

Q. Does the library have textbooks?

Answer: In general, the library does not provide textbooks. Students can search our library catalog to check availability. 

Q. Where can I find magazines and journals?

Answer: Magazines can be found in the magazine racks located near the fireplace on the first floor. Select bound volumes of older academic journals and magazines are located on shelving along the west perimeter of the second floor. Users are encouraged to search our online resources for specific titles, a searchable list can be found using our Journal full text finder tool.

Q. Where can I find the picture books and other books for my Children's Lit class? 

Answer: The picture books along with young reader books are located in the southwest corner of the lower level beyond the elevator. 

Q. Where is the reference department?

Answer: The reference books are located around the corner from the Service Desk on the 1st floor. Ask staff at desk for assistance.

Q. Where are the DVD's located?

Answer: DVD's, both entertainment and educational collections, are located at the south end of the first floor.

Q. How can I search for dissertations?

Answer: Dissertations completed by Gannon students can be searched using the Dissertations @ Gannon University search tool on the Dissertation Information tab of the Leadership Studies section of the library website.

Additional Open Access Dissertation collection links are provided in the Online Dissertation Searches box on the same page.

Q. I searched for a book in the library and you do not have it. Is there any way you can order the book from another library for me?

Answer: In addition to the library's print collection, a number of ebook collections are provided. Gannon users have two options when the library does not have a particular title. 

1. Interlibrary Loan - Students and faculty on the Erie Campus are able to place requests using our Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) service to request materials from other libraries. 
2. The library provides an online Ebook request form where users can submit a request for a book not currently in the library collection. As a rule, the library is not able to purchase textbooks. Staff will do our best to accommodate requests. 

Q. Can you find all the books on the website?

Answer: All of the library's print collection can be searched from within the library catalog. 

Q. Where are the books that people read just to enjoy reading, or does the library only have books for research?

Answer: The library does have a collection of fiction and paperback books for recreational reading. Paperback books are located in the basement. Additional titles can be found by searching the library catalog by title or author.