It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nurse Practitioner, MSN: Materials Outside of Nash Collections
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided for current Gannon University students, faculty, and staff by which materials, not owned by the library, are obtained from other libraries. The library covers the costs of select item requests. ILLiad is the system that manages your ILL requests. Using ILLiad you cantrackthe status of your requests and viewyour ILL borrowing history.
First Time User
To request an item through Interlibrary Loan, you must be identified as a member of the Gannon Community in the library's ILLiad system. To do this, you fill out aregistration form.
Registration has three purposes:
Entering your information into the ILLiad system means you will not resupply the information when making future requests.
Having your Gannon e-mail account on file with Interlibrary Loan enables us to notify you promptly and deliver materials accurately when your request arrives in the library.
By specifying a Username and Password of your choosing, you will have secure access to information about your requests. You will also be able to review the list of items you have requested in the past.
Please be aware that only you know your password - we do not.
Things to Know...
The ILL software requires users to use their Gannon email account to ensure delivery of system messages.
We depend on the holdings and willingness of others library to share requested articles. Most libraries plan on a minimum of 4 days to process requests. Articles may be received and visible to students within 1-2 business days. Additional time may be needed for harder to locate requests.
The library assumes all costs associated with retrieving articles.
When working with a group, designate one person to request and share an article. In keeping with Copyright compliance, multiple requests for the same article may delay processing.
Articles are provided in published language. Some abstracts may appear in English but article text may be in another language. Patrons are encouraged to review article details appearing in database and consider other resources unless they are fluent in the specific language.
Due to shipping delays, Ruskin students are encouraged to utilize ILL services of local public library or complete online book request form to see if electronic version is available for purchase.eBook purchase request
More and more academic content is becoming available from publishers using Open Access models. Before submitting a request, try a Google Scholar search or download the Unpaywall extention to help you discover articles available Open Access.
Under specific circumstances if the library is not able to obtain an article using our ILLiad service and our funding allows, we will purchase an article in order to fill the ILL request.
Publisher sites vary. When completing ILL request forms for articles found doing a Internet search, be sure to identify your journal title correctly:
It can be easy to confuse publisher names with journal titles
Publisher names/tag lines are often found at the top of the website. Followed by the publication name.
Does the publisher provide the full text?
Publisher pages change often and determining if full text is available may hard to determine. Whether you follow a link from a library resource search or searching on the Internet, scan the site for either a PDF icon or "full text" before submitting a request.
Where you search will make a difference.
Searching with a Gannon workstation or using the Gannon wireless network may provide access to some publisher full text sites due to individual electronic title subscriptions.
If you have a question about what can be accessed feel free to contact a librarian or search for your article by pasting full article title in our One Search on our home page.