Information for Global Students
Library Resources - Resources Explained
Books/eBooks
Books
Search the print collection found in Nash Library using our online catalog. Check out books and DVD's from the library with your Gannon ID Card.
eBooks
An eBook is a digital copy of a book. The ebooks can be read directly on your computer or other device. Library has a large collection of ebooks available through various databases
Databases
Online collection of articles, eBooks, and industry reports stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer using keyword search terms. Databases provide the high-quality scholarly research instructors are looking for in their assignments.
Visit our Databases page to view a descriptive, alphabetical listing of all the library's databases.
Use the first drop-down menu option on the Databases page to view the collections by subject.
Searching Techniques - Keyword
Use keywords not a sentence, when searching. Keywords are a significant or memorable word or term in the title, abstract, or text of an information resource that indicates its subject and are often used as search terms.*
Identify related or similar terms for your keywords to provide better search results.
Consult with a librarian to help determine best tool and search terms for your topic.
*Definitions provided by ACRL-IS Multilingual Glossary, https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HZH3lmElRTw41vG5_tUWPQhwwgfXJeMoHe-EeKOxrq0/edit
Scholarly Resources
Instructors may ask for “Scholarly,” “Academic,” "Refereed," or “Peer reviewed” sources of information when they give you assignments.
Visit the Research Process: A Step-by-Step Approach library page to learn more about scholarly articles.
Definitions provided by ACRL-IS Multilingual Glossary Definitions, https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HZH3lmElRTw41vG5_tUWPQhwwgfXJeMoHe-EeKOxrq0/edit
Research Guides
Visit the index of pages making up the library website to find program, course of special topic Research Guide pages.
