Search our collection of books, DVD's and other materials.
Select Print Books
Bosnia by Noel MalcolmThis updated edition of Noel Malcolm's highly-acclaimed Bosnia: A Short History provides the reader with the most comprehensive narrative history of Bosnia in the English language. Malcolm examines the different religious and ethnic inhabitants of Bosnia, a land of vast cultural upheaval where the empires of Rome, Charlemagne, the Ottomans, and the Austro-Hungarians overlapped. Clarifying the various myths that have clouded the modern understanding of Bosnia's past, Malcolm brings to light the true causes of the country's destruction. This expanded edition of Bosnia includes a new epilogue by the author examining the failed Vance-Owen peace plan, the tenuous resolution of the Dayton Accords, and the efforts of the United Nations to keep the uneasy peace. What went wrong in the country where Christians and Muslims mingled and tolerated each other for over five centuries? It was a land with a vibrant political and cultural history, unlike any other in Europe, where great powers and religions-the empires of Rome, Charlemagne, the Ottomans; the faiths of Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, Judaism, and Islam overlapped and combined. In this first English-language history of Bosnia, Noel Malcolm provides a narrative chronicle of the country from its beginnings to its tragic end. Clarifying the various myths that have clouded the modern understanding of Bosnia's past, Malcolm brings to light the true causes of the country's destruction: the political strategy of the Serbian leadership, the conflict between the city and the countryside, the fatal inaction and miscalculations of Western politicians. Putting the Bosnia war into perspective, this volume celebrates the complex history of a country whose past, as well as its future, has been all but erased. At last, here is the guide for the general reader seeking a comprehensive and accessible account of the war in the former Yugoslavia. Table of Contents A Note on Names and Pronunciations Maps Introduction 1. Races, myths and origins: Bosnia to 1180 2. The medieval Bosnian state, 1180-1463 3. The Bosnian Church 4. War and the Ottoman system, 1463-1606 5. The Islamicization of Bosnia 6. Serbs and Vlachs 7. War and politics in Ottoman Bosnia, 1606-1815 8. Economic life, culture and society in Ottoman Bosnia, 1606-1815 9. The Jews and the Gypsies of Bosnia 10. Resistance and reform, 1815-1878 11. Bosnia under Austro-Hungarian rule, 1878-1914 12. War and the kingdom: Bosnia 1914-1941 13. Bosnia and the second world war, 1941-1945 14. Bosnia in Titoist Yugoslavia, 1945-1989 15. Bosnia and the death of Yugoslavia: 1989-1992 16. The destruction of Bosnia: 1992-1993 Notes Glossary Bibliography Index
Call Number: DR1685 .M35 1994
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
Bosnia and Hercegovina by Robert J. Donia; John C. Hamer (Contribution by); John V. A. FineThis book examines Bosnia's rich historical traditions in light of the conflict that erupted there in 1992. The authors explain the origins of Bosnia's major ethnonational groups in the religious conversions of the Middle Ages and under the Ottomans as a prelude to the transformation of its principal religious communities into twentieth-century nationalities. The roles of Bosnia's Muslims, Serbs, and Croats in the events affecting the Yugoslav peoples in the twentieth century and then as Yugoslavia disintegrated in the early 1990s are vividly presented.
Call Number: DR1685 .D66 1994
Publication Date: 1994-11-03
Genocide in Bosnia by Norman Cigar"In this compelling and thorough study, Norman Cigar sets out to prove that genocide in Bosnia-Herzegovina is not simply the unintentional result of civil war or the unfortunate by-product of rabid nationalism. Genocide is, he contends, the planned and direct consequence of conscious policy decisions made by the Serbian establishment in Serbia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. Its policies were carried out in a deliberate and systematic manner as part of a broader strategy intended to achieve a defined political objective - the creation of an expanded, ethnically pure Greater Serbia." "Using testimony from congressional hearings, policy statements, interviews, and reports from the western and local media, the author describes a sinister policy of victimization that escalated from vilification to threats, then expulsion, torture, and killing. Cigar also takes the international community to task for its reluctance to act decisively and effectively." "Genocide in Bosnia provides a detailed account of the historical events, actions, and practices that led to and legitimated genocide in Bosnia-Herzegovina. It focuses attention not only on the horror of "ethnic cleansing" but on the calculated strategy that allowed it to happen. Cigar's book is important reading for anyone interested in the inherent violence of overzealous nationalism - from Rwanda to Afghanistan and anywhere else."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: DR1313.7 .A85 C54 1995
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
Love Thy Neighbor by Peter MaassWinner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize Peter Maass went to the Balkans as a reporter at the height of the nightmarish war there, but this book is not traditional war reportage. Maass examines how an ordinary Serb could wake up one morning and shoot his neighbor, once a friend--then rape that neighbor's wife. He conveys the desperation that makes a Muslim beg the United States to bomb his own city in order to end the misery. And Maass does not falter at the spectacle of U.N. soldiers shining searchlights on fleeing refugees--who are promptly gunned down by snipers waiting in the darkness. Love Thy Neighbor gives us an unflinching vision of a late-20th-century hell that is also a scathing inquiry into the worst extremes of human nature. Like Michael Herr's Dispatches (also available in Vintage paperback), it is an utterly gripping book that will move and instruct readers for years to come.
Call Number: DR1313.8 .M33 1996
Publication Date: 1997-02-25
My War Gone by, I Miss It So by Anthony LoydAn extraordinary, personal look at modern war by a young correspondent who saw its horrors firsthand, My War Gone By, I Miss It So is already being compared to the classics of war literature. Born into a distinguished family steeped in military tradition, from his youth Anthony Loyd longed to experience the fury of war from the front lines. Driven by suicidal despair and drug dependence, the former soldier left his native England at the age of twenty-six to cover the bloodiest conflict that Europe had seen since the Second World War -- the war in Bosnia. Nothing can prepare you for the account of war that Loyd gives. His harrowing stories from the battlefields show humanity at its worst and best, witnessed through the grim tragedies played out daily in the city, streets, and mountain villages of Bosnia and Chechnya. Profoundly shocking, violent, poetic, and ultimately redemptive, My War Gone By, I Miss It So is an uncompromising look at the terrifying brutality of war. It is a breathtaking, soul-shattering book, an intense and moving piece of reportage that you won't put down and will never be able to forget.
Call Number: DR1313.3 .L69 1999
Publication Date: 1999-12-07
Evil Doesn't Live Here by Daoud Sarhandi; Alina Boboc; David Rohde (Foreword by)For most Americans and Europeans, the Bosnian War was played out in the brief, flickering images of television news. But another set of images, more permanent and more profound, played an active role in this war, molding public sentiment and calling attention to the plight of the Bosnian people. For three hellish years, Bosnians plastered the walls of their towns with messages of anger, frustration, desperation, resistance, and hope. These extraordinary images, the focus of this book, are juxtaposed with the hateful, divisive works of propaganda that served the most vicious practitioners of "ethnic cleansing." Evil Doesn't Live Here presents this visual battle to the rest of the world for the first time. Former Bosnian aid workers Daoud Sarhandi and Alina Boboc have gathered over 180 of the most dramatic wartime posters, largely created by Bosnian artists and graphic designers at the height of the war. Fascinating on both political and artistic levels, they provide a harrowingaccount of the war and put a human face on this seemingly incomprehensible conflict. David Rohde, author of the acclaimed Endgame: The Betrayal and Fall of Srebrenica and winner of the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for his coverage of the Bosnian War, introduces this vivid and unforgettable collection, which will appeal as much to those interested in current affairs as designers and artists. A portion of the proceeds from this book will be donated to victims of the Bosnian War.
Surviving the Bosnian Genocide : The Women of Srebrenica Speak by Selma Leydesdorff; Kay Richardson (Translator)In July 1995, the Army of the Serbian Republic killed some 8,000 Bosnian men and boys in and around the town of Srebrenica-the largest mass murder in Europe since World War II. Surviving the Bosnian Genocide is based on the testimonies of 60 female survivors of the massacre who were interviewed by Dutch historian Selma Leydesdorff. The women, many of whom still live in refugee camps, talk about their lives before the Bosnian war, the events of the massacre, and the ways they have tried to cope with their fate. Drawing on their memories, though fragmented by trauma, the women tell of life and survival under extreme conditions, while recalling a time before the war when Muslims, Croats, and Serbs lived together peaceably. By giving them a voice, this book looks beyond the rapes, murders, and atrocities of that dark time to show the agency of these women during and after the war and their fight to uncover the truth of what happened at Srebrenica and why.