Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Guide Books
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 - kept at the Service Desk
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
From the Publisher: In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations.
AMA Manual of Style by
Call Number: REF R119 .A533 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Table of Contents: Types of articles -- Manuscript preparation -- References -- Visual presentation of data -- Ethical and legal considerations -- Editorial assessment and processing -- Grammar -- Punctuation -- Plurals -- Capitalization -- Correct and preferred usage -- Non-english words, phrases, and accent marks -- Medical indexes -- Abbreviations -- Nomenclature -- Eponyms -- Greek letters -- Units of measure -- Numbers and percentages -- Study design and statistics -- Mathematical composition -- Typography -- Manuscript editing and proofreading -- Glossary of publishing terms -- Resources.
Online Citation Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
This is one of the best citation guides on the internet. According to the website: APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.
APA Citation Style 6th Edition
This is a libguide that was done by Red Deer College Library. Links on the right side of the page are especially useful for finding more information and examples about the APA format including an APA 6th Edition Checklist. There are also links to PDF documents on "How to Create a Hanging Indent" and "Inserting a Running Head" in Windows 2010.
APA Citation Style 6th Edition - stylesheet
Another simple and effective handout from Kent State University on the proper format for APA style for creating a bibliography.
CLIC Plagiarism Tutorial
CLIC (Cooperating Libraries In Consortium) offers a simple tutorial with concise explanations and practical exercises. Be sure to check out the link at the top of the page that sends you to "Plagiarism: Avoid the Consequences" for a handy list of the problems with plagiarism.
You Quote It, You Note It!
From the Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University: "Why should I bother with this tutorial?
Glad you asked.
Plagiarism is a big deal, and it’s not something you want to find out about
the hard way.
It could get you dismissed from the university!
Researching ethically is also researching efficiently: not only will you learn how to avoid plagiarism, but you’ll also pick up some good research tips too."
"To avoid plagiarism, all students must document sources properly using Footnotes, Endnotes, or Parenthetical References, and must write a Bibliography, References, or Works Cited page and place it at the end of the research paper to list the sources used. Of the three ways to document sources - Footnotes, Endnotes, and Parenthetical References, the simplest is using Parenthetical References, sometimes referred to as Parenthetical Documentation or Parenthetical Citations.."
AMA Style Sheet and Tutorial
Bibliographic Database Management Sources
"Citefast formats your bibliographies and title pages, in APA 6th edition, MLA 7th edition and Chicago 16th edition. Hover over (the question mark) for citation tips. We are constantly upgrading the website to conform to the most recent citation guidelines. To make your task easier we have recently added new functionality.
"EasyBib is an intuitive information literacy platform that provides citation, note taking, and research tools that are easy-to-use and educational. EasyBib is not only accurate, fast, and comprehensive, but helps educators teach and students learn how to become effective and organized researchers. "
APA Citation Style - 7th edition
Academic Writer Quick Guide: Reference Elements
"Reference list entries include the four elements of the author, date, title, and source.
This page describes each element in detail:
1. the author element, including the format of individual author names and of group author names, 2. the date element, including the format of the date and how to include retrieval dates, 3. the title element, including the format of the title and how to include bracketed descriptions, 4. the source element, including the format of the source and how to include database information."
Quick Reference Guide, APA Style 7th Edition
The basics of the APA 7th edition are outlined here. There is a caveat at the bottom of the page:
"More information on reference variations not shown here (e.g., in-press articles, articles with article numbers, articles without DOIs, books with titled volumes,
audiobooks) can be found in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) and in the Concise Guide to APA Style (7th ed.)"