Search our collection of books, DVD's and other materials.
Select print books
Forensic Science by Jay A. Siegel; Kathy MirakovitsThis new edition of Forensic Science: The Basicsprovides a fundamental background in forensic science as well as criminal investigation and court testimony. It describes how various forms of data are collected, preserved, and analyzed, and also explains how expert testimony based on the analysis of forensic evidence is presented in court. The book addresses knowledge of the natural and physical sciences while introducing readers to the application of science to the justice system. Each chapter begins by presenting a set of learning objectives, a mini glossary, and acronyms. The book is also structured so that each chapter can stand on its own, allowing for continuous or selected reading and study. The Third Edition includes: Fully updated chapters to reflect current best practices Three new chapters on use of detector dogs in forensic science, forensic engineering, and digital evidence and computer forensics Case studies throughout that apply concepts to real-world examples The third edition of Forensic Science: The Basics is an ideal starting point for students with a basic science background but no experience in forensic science. It reinforces basic science knowledge while presenting the foundational aspects of forensic science theory and practice.
Call Number: HV8073 .S44 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Fundamentals of Crime Mapping by Rebecca Paynich; Bryan HillFundamentals of Crime Mapping introduces the topic of crime mapping and the history of GIS in law enforcement. This valuable text includes a workbook for hands-on instruction. Special topics discussed include: an up-to-date discussion of the current crime trends in rural and urban areas, the major ecological theories of crime, the notion of geographic profiling, empirical research using crime mapping tools, basic mapping terminology, and more!
Call Number: HV7936 .C88 P39 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Practical Homicide Investigation by Vernon J. GeberthRenowned for being THE definitive resource for homicide investigators, Practical Homicide Investigation: Tactics, Procedures, and Forensic Techniquesdetails the recognized protocols used by investigative divisions of major police departments throughout the world. The text is used in most police academies, including the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Now in its fifth edition, the book begins with a comprehensive discussion of homicide crime scenes and moves chronologically from initial police notification, the correct police response that follows, and the subsequent steps necessary to conduct an intelligent investigation. It then delves into the more technical aspects of homicide investigation, augmented with numerous pictures and full-color illustrations that involve pertinent case histories. This latest edition includes three new chapters along with fully revised chapters with new case histories and techniques that reflect the latest forensic methods and modern investigative procedures. Highlights of the Fifth Edition Include: Newly revised "Homicide Investigator's Checklist" A new chapter on the latest DNA technology A rewritten chapter on equivocal death investigations that includes staged crime scenes Additional information on modes of death Fully updated chapters on death notifications, sex-related homicide, management for police administrators, suicide investigation, and narcotics-related and homosexually based homicides Over 920 photos and illustrations, 250 new photographs, and several new case histories Eminent author, lecturer, consultant, and expert witness Vernon J. Geberth incorporates his more than four and a half decades of real-world law enforcement experience in this quintessential reference. This classic and must-have resource provides the most vital information needed by detectives and police investigators responsible for cases in violent and sudden death. Remember: do it right the first time. You only get one chance. --Vernon J. Geberth, M.S., M.P.S., Homicide and Forensic Consultant, Author of Practical Homicide Investigation, and Series Editor of The Practical Aspects of Criminal and Forensic Investigations
Call Number: HV8079 .H6 G4 2015X
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Principles of Forensic Report Writing by Michael Karson; Lavita NadkarniPrinciples of Forensic Report Writing explores the psychology of report writing, including the motivations of readers and writers, communicative and performative concerns, and the cognitive science that applies to the process.The book addresses foundational principles rather than mechanics and how these feed back to the assessment process. Emphasis is placed throughout on the problem of applying general research, nomothetic tests, and generally useful actuarials to specific cases.
Call Number: HV8073 .K254 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Crime Scene Investigation by Ian Pepper"Pepper strikes a number of goals in one text simultaneously. It is a fine tool to assist CSI practitioners with their day-to-day duties; it is also a guide for career development and, in the comprehensive table of relevant statutes, Pepper provides commonly used abbreviations and academic references, all of which establish the book as a solid launch pad for further reading." Timothy G. ShilstonChief Superintendent, Northumbria Police, UK Forensic evidence is dynamic in its context and continues to be highly significant in the detection and prosecution of crime. This means that the knowledge, skill and ability of the person who examines the scene of the crime - the Crime Scene Investigator (CSI) - must be thorough and up to date. The second edition of this book guides trainee and newly appointed CSIs through the methods and procedures for the accurate recording and recovery of evidence from the scene of a crime. This step-by-step handbook has been thoroughly updated and includes features such as: Photographs of the recording, recovery and comparison of evidence Detailed drawings of evidence, organizational structures and procedures Checklists of roles, equipment and activities required at a crime scene Self-assessment questions There is also information on best practice and professional development that is invaluable to any new or aspiring CSI. Crime Scene Investigation is essential reading for all students - undergraduate or FE - with an interest in forensic law enforcement, particularly those wishing to become Crime Scene Investigators. It is also a handy reference for trainee and professional forensic practitioners.
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
O'Hara's Fundamentals of Criminal Investigation by DeVere/D WoodsCharles and Gregory O’Hara’s Fundamentals of Criminal Investigation has served as the “Bible” of criminal investigation for many years. The author of this new edition has prepared this text for a new generation of criminal investigators in such a way that they will learn what is meant by a complete investigation and acquaint themselves with the proofs of the most important crimes. In addition, they will become familiar with the employment of technical methods and services that are available. The tools of the investigator are referred to as the three “I’s,” namely, “Information,” “Interrogation,” and “Instru-mentation.” In view of this factor, the technological advancements in forensic science, practices of criminalistics, computerization, electronic databases, and the Internet are presented, including the time honored methods of collecting information that are still effective and utilized. Among the changes in this new edition include crime analysis, criminal profiling, theories of investigation, ethics of investigation, the “CSI” effect, cold case investigation, digital photography, computer crime and digital crime scenes, and the Internet as an investigative tool. The book presents an overview of criminal investigation, the investigative notebook and report, crime scene procedures and physical evidence, obtaining information through surveillance and informants, selected property offenses, violent crimes, drugs and gangs, and the investigator in court. The “Additional Reading” sections, at the end of each chapter and the glossary of useful criminal investigation terms have been updated. The presentation of material in this book is directed to the beginning student of investigation, but experienced investigators and supervisors will find this text an excellent resource.
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Electronic Crime Scene Investigation by David E. Learner (Editor)This book is intended to assist State and local law enforcement and other first responders who may be responsible for preserving an electronic crime scene and for recognising, collecting, and safeguarding digital evidence. It is not all inclusive but addresses situations encountered with electronic crime scenes and digital evidence. All crime scenes are unique and the judgement of the first responder, agency protocols, and prevailing technology should all be considered when implementing the information in this guide. First responders to electronic crime scenes should adjust their practices as circumstances -- including level of experience, conditions, and available equipment -- warrant. The circumstances of individual crime scenes and Federal, State, and local laws may dictate actions or a particular order of actions other than those described in this guide. First responders should be familiar with all the information in this guide and perform their duties and responsibilities as circumstances dictate. This is an edited and excerpted edition of a U.S. Dept. of Justice publication.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
When you have found an article or book that you have not been able to locate within the library resources, you may request by using the library's ILL services. Follow the link below to create or access your account.