Search our collection of books, DVD's and other materials.
Care of the Young Athlete by American Academy of Pediatrics Council on Sports Medicine Staff; Sally S. Harris; Steven J. Anderson; American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) StaffThis best-selling resource gives you an easy-to-use, one-stop guide to all aspects of childhood sports preparation, participation, and injury treatment. The newly enhanced and updated second edition covers safety and risk-management considerations; procedural how-to's for the preparticipation physical examination; the latest treatment recommendations on proper nutrition for athletes; proven injury prevention guidelines; detailed treatments for dozens of injuries; and more. Topics have been selected to reflect the health and safety issues most likely to be encountered by primary care practitioners. Numerous color photos and illustrations bring the authoritative text to life. New in the 2nd edition! New Bonus full-color symptom locator poster All-new chapters on nutrition and weight control; performance-enhancing substances; risks of injury during sports participation; acute and overuse shoulder injuries Important new findings on issues specific to the female athlete Contents include: Assessing physical and emotional readiness for athletic participation Effects of training and competition on child development Nutrition, weight loss, and performance-enhancing substances Athletic participation for physically challenged children Evaluation and treatment of both medical and musculoskeletal injuries Guidelines for returning to athletics after injury Recommendations for specialty referral
Publication Date: 2009-08-28
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by Jack L. Murray; Emily O. WatsonThis book presents and discusses current research in the study of sports and athletics. Topics discussed include the anti-inflammatory effects of exercise; the role of physical exercise in Parkinson's disease; the health benefits of aerobic activity and physical fitness in young people; physiological evaluation of athletic performance in cyclic sports; social and environmental influences on athlete motivation in sports; self-talk in sports; mental toughness; the role of physical activity in the treatment and prevention of anxiety and depression in children and being superstitious in sports. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical Press)
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Philosophy and the Sciences of Exercise, Health and Sport by Mike McNamee (Editor)Philosophy and the Sciences of Exercise, Health and Sportis a unique interdisciplinary study that calls on researchers in these disciplines to reflect more critically on the nature and aims of scientific enquiry. In doing so, the book questions the underlying assumptions and development of science itself. Written by a range of internationally respected philosophers, scientists and social scientists, each chapter addresses a key issue in research methodology. Questions asked by the authors include: Do natural and social scientists need to understand the philosophy of science? Are statistics misused in sport and exercise science research? Is sport science research gender-biased? How do external and commercial interests skew professional guidelines in health and sport reserach? Should scientists focus their attention on confirmation of theories, or on attempts to falsify them? Philosophy and the Sciences of Exercise, Health and Sportserves notice to exercise, health and sport researchers to think more philosophically about their subject and its scientific bases. It is essential reading for postgraduate researchers seeking to establish a sound theoretical foundation for their work.
Publication Date: 2005-02-11
Evidence-Based Applied Sport Psychology by Roland A. CarlstedtCarlstedt makes a compelling argument for the need to be open to new integrative approaches when it comes to applied practice, from initial assessment of an athlete to the final objective assessment of their own work. I would encourage all practitioners to reflect upon their own work."√>=Journal of Sports Sciences Evidence-Based Applied Sport Psychology is an essential resource for trainees and practitioners of sport psychology √ In his call to evaluate effectiveness and efficacy at the intra-individual level (using single-case repeated-measures designs), Carlstedt raises a critical point that all applied psychology fields should heed√ "√>=Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology I]f you are interested in sport psychology on any level, the manual is well worth the cost and investment of time."--New England Psychologist The presented protocol in this book is a shining example of the scientific rigor that should mark assessment and intervention in sport psychology. The eloquent integration of psychological theory, reliable and ecologically valid mind-body assessment techniques, along with sophisticated intervention efficiency and efficacy testing will certainly inspire dedicated sport psychology practitioners striving for the highest level of evidence-based practice. Richard Temple, PhD., Neuropsychologist and Board Certified Sport Psychologist Dr. Carlstedt's book contains a treasure trove of knowledge for sport psychology practitioners. It challenges us to take our practice to the next level by demanding adherence to gold standard athlete assessment, intervention, and intervention efficacy testing procedures. This book presents a comprehensive analysis of emerging theoretical and conceptual frameworks and an original validated applied sport psychological protocol that all practitioners should use to foster high evidentiary practice. The intellectual rigor and spirit of scientific discovery that it embodies are inspiring, an approach that I used at the 2012 Olympics with my medalist athletes. Vaibhav Agashe, M.S., India Olympic Team Sport Psychology Consultant Dr. Carlstedt's multi-modal assessment and mental training protocol stands out as an innovative major advance in applied sport psychology. It brings high-evidentiary accountability to what is usually a very eclectic, nebulous and anecdotal process. Ajay Wasan, M.D., Harvard Medical School Evidence-Based Applied Sport Psychology can be considered a seminal, watershed book, and a major contribution to the field. Ultimately, the book should mobilize practitioners to challenge the status quo in applied sport psychology by going well beyond the cursory, and become more critical thinkers and practitioners. The book calls on all practitioners to be trained in the presented procedures and methodologies in order to become more credible practitioner-researchers, something that is crucial to the field's credibility and long-term viability.√ This book represents a significant advancement of the field of applied sport psychology. Mark H. Anshel, PhD Professor, Department of Health and Human Performance Middle Tennessee State University From the Foreword This is the first book to call for a major paradigm shift in applied sport psychology by providing a wealth of systematic, scientifically validated research in a field where assessment and treatment has often been haphazard. In his quest to bring sport psychology to a higher level of validity, Dr. Carlstedt describes the most current assessment methods, intervention procedures, and promising research that are critical for use in evidence-based practice. These assessment and treatment methods are based on 25 years of rigorous scientific approaches and principles that incorporate the most sophisticated research methods now available. The book desc
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology by Jamie E. Robbins; Leilani MadrigalThis concise, engaging text, distinguished by its skillful integration of theory and practice, addresses the key principles of sport, exercise, and performance psychology. It reflects the broadening of sport psychology studies to encompass more widespread human performance research. Emphasizing practical applications of theory, the book helps students interested in pursuing a career in sport and exercise psychology, as well as those focused on such occupations as coaching and athletic training, to recognize the applicability of sport and exercise psychology principles to their everyday lives and future careers. To avoid an overabundance of extraneous theories and research, the text takes a streamlined "less is more" approach by focusing on just the core theories underpinning sport psychology. Chapters address such essential concepts as individual differences, personality, motivation, stress and coping, decision making, and burnout in the context of human performance. Bringing these topics to life are companion "Applying the Concepts" chapters demonstrating how these principles are directly applied in real-life situations. Interviews with researchers, coaches, athletes, and other individuals from performance-intensive professions vividly reinforce the book's content. Additionally, the text contains insights on theories and research findings that students can apply to their own experience. Critical thinking questions and "Individual Challenge" activities promote understanding and further exploration. An instructor's package includes a test bank and PowerPoints. KEY FEATURES: Illustrates key theories and research with practical applications Written in a concise and easily accessible manner Provides examples of practice applications in sport, exercise, and other areas of human performance Includes interviews with researchers, practitioners, coaches, athletes, and other performance-intensive professionals Explains how theoretical concepts can be applied to a student's personal experience
Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Sport Psychology by Bruce D. Geranto (Editor)Sport psychology is the study of a person's behaviour in sport. It is also a specialisation within the brain psychology and kinesiology that seeks to understand psychological/mental factors that affect performance in sports, physical activity, and exercise and apply these to enhance individual and team performance. This book presents current research in the study of sport psychology including such topics as the social and environmental influences on athletic motivation; superstitious beliefs on athlete's cognitive and affective responses; socio-psychological risk among at-risk student athletes; and mental toughness in sports.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
When you have found an article or book that you have not been able to locate within the library resources, you may request by using the library's ILL services. Follow the link below to create or access your account.