Project Management, Planning and Control by Albert LesterCovering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook. With clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, which can pose particular challenges in engineering environments, this sixth edition includes new chapters on Agile project management and project governance, more real-life examples and updated software information. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM), and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding. It is also updated to match the latest BS 6079 standard for project management in construction. Focused on the needs and challenges of project managers in engineering, manufacturing and construction, and closely aligned to the content of the APM and PMI 'bodies of knowledge'. Structured according to the logical sequence of a major project, with a strong focus on planning, scheduling, budgeting, and control-critical elements in the management of engineering projects. Includes project management questions and answers, compiled by a former APM exam assessor, to help you test your knowledge and prepare for professional examinations.
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Project and Program Management by Mitchell L. SpringerChoosing the right people to carry out a project is essential to its success. When multiple projects are combined into a complex program, the human aspect becomes even more important. This book is the first to truly balance a complete account of the technical aspects of project and program management with a practical approach to understanding and developing the core competencies required to accomplish desired goals.Drawing on almost thirty years of senior managerial experience in the defense and software industries, where the successful completion of multimillion-dollar projects is a strategic imperative, the author has a unique understanding of both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of program management. On the technical side, this book is a complete introduction to predicting costs, setting schedules, and assessing risks. On the people side, it sheds new light on how to mold different personality types into a team, how to motivate the team's members, and how to produce extraordinary results.After exploring the concept of competencies and showing how people must be at the heart of any organizational decision, Springer focuses on the essential qualities of leadership, the dynamics of teams, and the relationship between a team and the individuals that compose the team. He shows how an inclusive approach is essential to effective decision making. Using these insights, he then details the essential parts of the program management approach, describing the best way to define, organize, and schedule the work to be done, identifying risks and controlling costs during the whole process.This is a uniquely insightful and practical text that will be invaluable reading for all professionals involved in the dynamic field of project and program management. Tested in a number of classes, the second edition includes numerous pedagogical improvements. New research on competency models is presented, and more emphasis is placed on the importance for project managers of understanding the global context.
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Research in Engineering and Management of Advanced Manufacturing Systems by Vladimir Modrak (Editor)Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 4th International Conference on Management of Manufacturing Systems (MMS 2014), October 1-3, 2014, High Tatras, Slovakia. The 40 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Modern Trends in Manufacturing Management; Chapter 2: Machines and Equipments of Manufacturing Systems; Chapter 3: Logistics and RFID in Manufacturing Systems; Chapter 4: Researching and Designing of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems.
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
Applied Mechanics and Materials, Volume 736 by Khanittha WongseedakaewCollection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2014 3rd International Conference on Recent Trends in Materials and Mechanical Engineering, (ICRTMME 2015), January 15-16, 2015, Auckland, New Zealand.The 36 papers are grouped as follows:Chapter 1: Materials Science and Materials Processing Technology, Materials Mechanical Properties;Chapter 2: Applied Mechanics, Advanced Materials Application in Manufacturing and Industry;Chapter 3: Information Technologies, Intelligent Control Systems;Chapter 4: Robotics, Automation and Control
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Progress in Management Engineering by Lucas P. Gragg; Jan M. CassellManagement engineering is a new field, which is quickly becoming a specific branch of engineering that takes a comprehensive approach to management. The underlying assumption is that the organisation can be modelled as an interacting system, with cause-and-effect chains, feedback loops and other structures that behave like those in other systems. Management engineering tools are used to make the system visible so that managers can understand it and guide it better. This book presents current research in this new field.
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Successful Project Management by Larry RichmanSuccessful Project Management, Third Edition, covers the fundamentals of project management, focusing on practical skills you can apply immediately to complete projects on time, on budget, and on target! This book teaches you how to use proven strategies in large or small projects to clarify the objectives, avoid serious errors of omission, and eliminate costly mistakes. Gain the skills to: ¿ Set measurable project objectives and create a practical plan to achieve them. ¿ Manage the time, cost, and scope of the project. ¿ Lead the project team and manage relationships effectively and productively across the spectrum of project stakeholders. Modern project management is a premier solution in business and nonprofit organizations. Project managers find success using a structured approach to project planning, scheduling, resourcing, decision making, and management. This book isn¿t just for project managers. Team members need to know how to carry out their part of the project, and business executives need to understand how they must support project management efforts in the organization. Now you can master the skills and techniques you need to bring projects in on schedule, and on budget, with Successful Project Management. No matter how complex or extensive your project, you¿ll understand how to exercise the strict planning, tracking, monitoring, and management techniques needed to stay on top of every project.