Skip to main content

Library Research: Home

Find Articles/Databases

Need to find an Article?

Articles can be found by searching with one of the library databases found on the
Databases (A-Z Resource List). To find articles on a variety of subjects,
try Academic Search Ultimate  

Looking for a specific journal/magazine?

Search the Full Text Journal Title Search 

Search across all of the library databases (One Search)

 

 

Find Books/eBooks

Use the Library Catalog to find books and select eBooks available at the Nash Library & Student Learning Commons

Search our collection of books, DVD's and other materials.

 

 

Search our collection of eBooks by visiting our EBSCOhost's eBook Collection

Research Process: Step-by-Step

Detailed guide to help students familiarize themselves with the research process and useful library tools is available on the library website by clicking the image below

research process bar image

Open Athens Login Screen

 

When attempting to access a provided resource from the library's website, users are prompted with the OpenAthens login page in order to access the resource's search interface.

 

 

 

Username and passwords are the same as used for accessing the my.gannon portal and Blackboard.

Research Guides

On the Research Guides tab, students will find pages developed for specific programs and courses. These guides provide access to a number of resources on a topic including suggested databases, select eBooks and other online resources. In addition to program and course pages, students are encouraged to review relevant links in the Library Resources and Special Topic boxes.

Go to the live site by clicking  - https://library.gannon.edu/researchguides2

Research Guides page image

Research Consultation

Meet with a Librarian

The NLSLC librarians are here to assist students and faculty at any stage of the research process. Visit the Get Research Help page for availability and contact information.

 

Meet with a Writing Center Consultant

Appointments can be made with the student Writing & Research Consultants using My WConline

Tutorials (note: page in progress)

Visit our Tutorials page for a selection of provider and library created tutorials. Short length video and interactive tutorials highlighting various tools, search techniques and library products.

 

 

Citations help readers find sources used in your research while at the same time give credit to the original author of a particular work. There are numerous ways to cite resources in your paper. The citation style usually depends on the academic discipline. Always check with your instructor on citation style requirements.


Schedule an appointment with one of the consultants at the Writing & Research Center or visit one of the library's citation style guides for more information.

Writing and Research Center Icon and link APA Citation style Guide icon and link AMA style guide icon and link MLA citation style guide icon and link

 

What is Inter-library Loan?

Inter-library loan (ILL) is a service for Gannon students and faculty used to request articles or books not available full text in our resources from other libraries from across the U.S. and around the world. 

The service uses, the ILLiad interface allowing Gannon Users to create a unique account for making requests. All communications are done electronically using existing Gannon email accounts.

Visit the Interlibrary Loan page for more information.


Things to know about ILL?

Costs

Money image (cost)

The library assumes all costs associated with retrieving articles.

Registration - email notification

keyboard email image

The ILL software requires users to use their Gannon email account to ensure delivery of system messages.

Delivery Time

Clock image representing time

We depend on the holdings and willingness of others library to share requested articles. Articles are usually received and visible to students within 1-2 business days.

Group work

working group

When working with a group, designate one person to request and share an article. In keeping with Copyright compliance, multiple requests for the same article may delay processing.

Articles from International Journals

Language image

Please be aware, abstracts often appear in English but the article full text will only be available in the country's specific language. Patrons are encouraged to consider other resources unless they are fluent in the specific language.

Retrieving Books

stack of books image

 Due to shipping delays, we recommend online and distance students utilize the ILL services of their local public library for books not in our collection.

Loading ...